Lotta, A Finnish Girl

As I was wefting the blonde alpaca fibers (and seeing little bits of it weeks later floating around my home!), a vision of a northern european girl kept coming to my mind. Not only am I in love with stories of vikings and european history, absolutely obsessed reading books and watching documentaries and tv shows, but also interested in the modern cultures found in Sweden, Norway, Iceland and Finland. They are distinct cultures from one another, I know, but they all hold the same excitement for me and so I lump them all into the same category: adventure. A desire to one day travel and see their shores and forests and mountains. I think it is the rugged strength and desire for adventure that I deem the people of these areas to have, as their ancestors did centuries before. And so this little doll was asking for pale blonde eyes to go with her light hair, and a dress that was simple and straightforward and practical, made for playing and working with no frills. So I chose gauze (my favourite fabric to work with!) and of course linen. But Lotta is also a little girl and so she needed a fun and playful side, a little demonstration of the spirit she has for exploring and playing hide and seek in the woods! So without further adieu I will introduce you to Lotta, my northern girl (who my husband says looks more Finnish or Swedish than Icelandic… but really what does it matter?)Lotta-17 Lotta-16 Lotta-15 Lotta-14As you can see when we ran outside to go for a wild game of hide and seek in our douglas fir and cedar forests nearby, we happened to catch the chilliest morning of the year! It was so exciting to see Lotta’s eyes light up and sparkle as she stopped and looked about her in wonder! I could imagine the white puffs of her breath freezing for a few heartbeats as she took all the beauty and fragility about her in!Lotta-13 Lotta-12 Lotta-11 Lotta-10Lotta-7 Lotta-6 Lotta-5 Lotta-4 Lotta-3 Lotta-2 Lotta-1Hiding in the reeds and bulrushes didn’t quite obscure her from my vision, but I didn’t have the heart to tell her. I pretended that I couldn’t see her and she giggled with delight before running off again to find another clump of weeds to hide in…Lotta-24 Lotta-23 Lotta-22 Lotta-21 Lotta-20 Lotta-19 Lotta-18As you can see Lotta is quite delightful to play with! She is 16″ and very solid, stuffed firmly with locally sourced and processed wool. She is made in the waldorf tradition, and has wefted alpaca hair (made by myself) which I crocheted into a cap. Alpaca is very wispy and fragile and meant for a mature child or adult collector. Her outfit has four pieces, meant to look Finnish or Northern European in style: natural and functional and simple. The blue underdress is made from Japanese gauze, and the outer pinafore is made from linen. The blue dress closes with 2 wood buttons on the back. She has linen bloomers underneath, and comes with crochet wool boots made of super wash wool. Her head band is made from the gauze as well as rabbit fur, with alpaca antlers. Her sweater (made by another wonderful Etsy seller) is 100% wool with 3 deer antler buttons. Please visit my Etsy shop if you would like to make her a home! Lotta-25 Lotta-26

Leave a Reply

