Kayleigh, a Custom 18″ Doll

Image

Image

Image

Kayleigh seems the perfect name for this custom 18″ doll. She just appears to shout celebration, life, dance!

It amazes me how much each doll I make allows me to grow and begin afresh. I tend to pick natural coloured hairs, but when Kayleigh’s mom and I conversed about yarn choice we both fell in love with this bright and cheerful lockspun. I would never have picked rainbow on my own, and yet while I was working with it, I have fallen in love with how cheerful it looks. It brings me back to when I was a little girl, when I loved bright colours and fun and happy, playing with my My Little Ponies and stuffies and Charmkins and Rose Petal dolls! I am not sure where the more serious came from as I ‘matured’, but I am thankful for the bottom of my heart that I have been renewed in the love for colour!

Image

Image

This hair is simply amazing. Kayleigh’s mom wanted soft and delectable and curls, and I am sure she is going to be delighted! Each strand is unique, and I am in love with Cricket Thicket’s talent and abilities in spinning such amazing locks.

Image

Image

I designed Kayleigh’s outfit to be worn in a number of ways, so she comes to her new home with a raglan shirt, pantaloons, purple overdress, and pink apron. Her new mom can mix and match as she pleases, but being a layer girl I love them all on at once! Her booties are made from alpaca/angora blend in my favourite colour, lemongrass, as you can see they are angelically soft! Her dress has three vintage glass buttons in iridescent white.

Image

Kayleigh is of course hand made by me in the waldorf style. She is 19-20″ in length, sewn with cotton interlock and stuffed with wool, and her hair has been applied strand by strand to a cap sewn on her head. This lockspun type wool of her hair is very soft with lots of random curls sticking about, but care is needed when playing as some of the strands can unravel a bit. So she is designed with a careful older child or adult collector in mind.

Image

Because her new mom was so patient with me as I finished the last of our homeschooling for the year, and started to arrange for our move in the summer, I made Kayleigh a special treat to take home with her as a thank you!

Image

Thanks for viewing, and Happy Summer Vacation! There is much celebrating going on at this house for that reason, and I am sure there is at yours too!

 

Leave a Reply

