Little Kit

Image

Image

Kit was creating mischief of one kind, or another…

Image

I don’t know where this little one came from. I alluded to her feistiness in the last post, she pushed her way in front out of pure exuberance! I had never thought of making a little woodland fox girl, in fact I have a whole list of ideas that I am working my way through slowly, and this little one just exploded out of nowhere like a little meteor. But Katharine, aka “Kit” in her fox getup, was ready to go and explore the world.

Image

I had the perfect orange Madeleine Tosh wool waiting for her, its a wonderful “vintage” line they call it with a medley of oranges, and is bordered by silky soft alpaca in creams. I crocheted her little hat with ties on the bottom, a fox tail that belts on at the waist with a wooden button, and matching boots for all her romping and stomping.

Image

Image

Image

She looks just as sweet and a little less mischievous in her regular getup, a wonderful striped dress in the faintest hue of blue-green, bordered with lace trim, and as always an underskirt, and olive green/khaki pantaloons. Her dress closes with 2 wooden buttons on the back.

Image

Her hair is wefted mohair, crocheted into a cap and sewn to her head. Like all my dolls she is made of cotton, stuffed with sheep wool (this particular doll was stuffed with wool I washed and carded myself, from a neighbours flock!) and has embroidered cotton features. She is 16″ or so in size. Her sweater is quality knitted from wool not by myself but from an easy seller, and also closes with a wooden button. Everything but the sweater was made by myself (one day I will tackle learning knitting, maybe next winter when there isn’t so much outdoors to explore).

Image

Image

If you would like to take Katharine Kit (she is insisting, really!) home please visit my easy store here. Thanks or looking, hope you enjoyed the buttercups as much as we did this afternoon!

Image

 

Leave a Reply

